Ernie Harwell: Dying Well – Lessons from a Baseball Legend

large_ernie-harwell

Ernie Harwell is dying. If you’re a sports fan you at least know the name, if not the voice. After reading this article I wish I could have known the man himself. As a matter of fact, even though I don’t know him, I hope I can become more like him. For example-

When asked whether he was worried about dying, his answer was reminiscent of Paul’s attitude in Philippians 1. “If you worry, that’s like telling God that you don’t think he can handle things. It’s a slap in the face of God,” said Harwell. “”My confidence is in God. Long ago, I gave my life to him. My life is in his hands.”

And this,

Harwell and his wife Lulu have been married for 68 years and have seven grandchildren. When asked how he wants to spend his final months before the call to glory arrives, Harwell said he wants to do all he can to serve his wife with the time he has left.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

