Nothing Profound

It seems as though I’m without much of anything to say these days. At least nothing profound, clever or interesting.

Being a good Presbyterian, I do not believe it is without cause and reason. Being a good Presbyterian, I believe God is at least allowing, if not outright causing, this lack of words.

Over the last six months or so I’ve notice several different signs, or maybe clues is a better word, that I am just now putting together. I don’t know If you’re interested, but I’m going to put them down on paper digital electronic storage media anyway. Maybe this will make sense to someone else out there. 

  • I can’t read. I am literate. I know how to read, I just can’t sit and do it for any length of time or pages any more. For the last fifteen years or so I’ve been continuously reading something, often several books at a time. I’ve loved it. Almost always devotional/theological, almost always written by folks long dead, my reading has been enlightening, encouraging, spurred me on, shaped the way I think and confirmed that I’m not alone in this pilgrimage. So it’s been a little worrisome, and sad, to be without this discipline. 
  • Debate of ideas has become wearying to me. Certain corners of the God-blogosphere have had something to do with this, often making me want to vomit with their venomous, hateful tone. But even the collegial discussion of deep truth has, for the most part, left me feeling like I’m trying to make a meal out of cotton candy -initially sweet but dissolving into nothing almost immediately.
  • I’m a big advocate of prayer. In my thinking, all other spiritual disciplines are, in the final analysis, ways of praying. My definition of prayer is, “Learning to live all of life with God.” I’ll tell anyone who’ll listen of our great need of prayer. I’ll lament the fact of our prayerlessness and the obvious problems that come from lack of prayer. Yet I don’t pray very much.
  • Certain scriptures keep coming to mind. “For the Kingdom of God is not a matter of talk, but of power.”, “Why do you call me, ‘Lord, Lord’, and do not do what I say?”, “But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand.”.
  • A line from a Brennan Manning book keeps coming to mind as well. “You’ve had enough insights into the spiritual life, now you need to live them out.” (paraphrase)
  • I meet regularly with a friend, who has been helping folks in various stages of grief and suffering. He asked me the other day if I wanted to go with him to be with these people. My first reaction was to think of an excuse why I couldn’t go.

It’s time for me to move from the theoretical to the actual in my faith.

So I probably won’t have much profound, or clever, or even interesting to say for a while. What I’m going to try to do is report my attempts to actually live it out. The good, the bad, and the ugly. 

    Tags: , ,

    One Response to “Nothing Profound”

    1. Jimmy D. Says:

      If living in simple, daily obedience to Jesus isn’t profound, what is? I appreciate you brother.

    Leave a Reply

