Sinclair Ferguson on the church

From a sermon delivered to the EPC General Assembly last week. (HT- Jimmy Davis)

“When the church fails to be the church, individual Christians need to learn how to ask questions that will make ungodly people think about godly things. But when the church is the church, the people of God simply need to answer the questions that the very character of the church is prompting the world to ask.”

Go here to read Jimmy’s longer quote. Great stuff.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Sinclair Ferguson on the church”

  1. dpcpastor Says:

    Ferguson did a great job at General Assembly. He is one of my favorite prachers and authors. If you have not read his book “Children of the Living God” is is on my top 10 list and one of the best books I have ever read. I have it listed on my “Great Books” page if you want to check it out nad let me know what you think. Here is the link: http://anuncommongrace.wordpress.com/great-books/

    Blessings,
    Darian

  2. seaton garrett Says:

    He did do a great job. I haven’t read that one yet, but thanks for the recommendation. I’ll check it out.

    Thanks for the comment too.

  3. Jimmy D. Says:

    Yes, his sermons at GA we’re excellent. A highlight for me, I think.

  4. seaton garrett Says:

    For me too. Do you have a copy of this sermon?

  5. Jimmy D. Says:

    Yep.

Leave a Reply

