I’m Haunted (part 1)

I’m Haunted. It seems like I’ve been haunted forever.

I’m haunted by verses of scripture that say things like, “Religion that is pure… is this: that you visit widows and orphans in their afflictions….”, or this, “If one of you says to him, ‘Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed.’, but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it?”, or this,”I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do to one of the least of these, you did not do unto me.”

I’m haunted by how much stuff I have and how much stuff I still want.

I’m haunted by how many times I have turned away from that guy at the exit ramp  with the sign that invariably says “Stranded…God Bless” 

But I think I’m haunted most by the eyes of any, no, every little African child, hollow, listless, almost lifeless, and certainly hopeless.

Lately I’m haunted by the reports from the Compassion International blogggers trip to Uganda.

As I write this I’m sitting at my computer, in my warm house, listening to music on my Bose SoundDock. I’m trying to figure out what to fix for dinner that will work with the low-carb diet I’m on because I’ve eaten so much over the last year or so that I’m getting fat. 

Something is wrong with this picture.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “I’m Haunted (part 1)”

  1. Jeff Says:

    Me too. God has been laying this exact same sentiment on my heart in the past few months.

    Just remember to always be thankful for what you do have. And when given an opportunity to help somebody in need…. jump on it!

    God Bless.

  2. fhluganda Says:

    Wow, awesome stuff! My wife and I work for an orphan program in Uganda called Feed His Lambs. Love the blog. Keep up the good work! You can check us out at:

    http://fhluganda.wordpress.com/

    Mukama Ye Ba Zibwe!

    Jesse & Terra

    • seaton garrett Says:

      Thanks for stopping by, glad you liked it. Stopped by your site too, good stuff! Keep up the good work. I have a soft spot for the children of Africa, so thank you for doing what you do.

Leave a Reply

