It’s Friday!

Both of you who have been reading this blog for a while know that Friday is the day I ask you, “How are you really doing?

The reason I ask this is, well, lots of people ask how you’re doing, but not very many really want the truth. The unvarnished, messy, sometimes embarrassing  truth.

The truth for most of us is that we’re not nearly as far along as we thought we’d be by now, that we’re hiding behind various masks we’ve constructed to show everyone what we think we’re supposed to be, and that keeps us from knowing and really being known. We are alone because no one knows us. We feel like Psalm 142:4, “No one cares for my soul.”

It’s no wonder. Not only will no one really listen to me, I couldn’t tell them even if they would listen. (I know this isn’t true for everyone, but it’s true for enough of us to be a “true” statement) Well, not on Friday’s here.

I’m asking, and listening, and for once the anonymity of the interweb can help.

Tell me how it’s really going.  Use your real name or not, fine with me. But be honest. Even if you don’t write, you’ll know someone is at least asking.

If you do write, know that; I’ll pray for you (pray for me too), I won’t give you trite, easy answers, and that I’m trying to work on my log, before your splinter.  

*Disclaimer* If this post reads like it was written by someone with no idea how to form coherent sentences, we’ve been dealing with a stomach bug at our house, and I’m a little sleep deprived. Sorry. 

2 Responses to “It’s Friday!”

  1. Rob Hopcott Says:

    Hi

    I was just one of your two people you say read your blog and was about to sprint away on seeing the word ‘psalm’ and the other one ‘pray’ but a thought flashed through my Internet crazed mind (it’s been a very long online working day, although enjoyable).

    The thought was this:

    Would you be as kind, considerate and good as you are – a quick scan of your blog suggested that you are a caring and good person – if you didn’t have deistic beliefs?

    My guess is that you would be.

    Just my thought of the moment.

    By the way, I think being kind, considerate and helping one’s fellow man is really important and we should all work together to make a better world – and I’m a dyed in the wool atheist.

    I hope I haven’t offended you. I understand that even tweaking the tail gently of those that ‘believe’ can easily hurt.

    I seek not to convert but simply amuse a little.

    Good luck

    Rob

  2. seaton garrett Says:

    Hi Rob,
    Glad to have a name for the other reader. I know the one (Hi Mom!)

    Thanks for your sensitivity in not wanting to offend. We who believe are often easily offended. That’s a pity. You don’t need to worry with me, though. I’ve already figured out that if Christianity is not true, then I’m as big a fool as you’ll ever meet. I happen to think it’s true. (Christianity, that is, not me being the biggest fool.)

    Stopped by your blog(s). Good stuff, although my reading tends not towards the romantic. I enjoyed what I read. I also liked the pictures of Exmoor. I’d like to travel to the UK sometime.

    As for your question, Would I be as kind, considerate and good if I didn’t have deistic beliefs? My first response is, “Probably not”. As I think about it though, I’m not sure. I was raised, and still live in the Southeastern US, and as the stereotypes point out we are notoriously hospitable. My point is that biblical morality is in the cultural air we breathe and water we drink, so I would likely be as good and kind as the next guy.

    I won’t try to convert you either. I’m sure you’ve heard all the arguements and reasons to believe before. If you don’t mind, I will pray for you though. I will pray for real joy and contentment for you, for deep satisfaction in your life and work, and for love of family and friends. And more of the same if you already have these.

    I personally think these are all gifts from God that find their ultimate expression in Him, so maybe I am praying for your conversion, but I’ll leave that to him.

Leave a Reply

