No Good, Apart From You

The sun is shining through the back door onto the kitchen table. It only does that a few months out of the year when the leaves are down and the morning sun comes up over the ridge. The chores, my “work” for the day, have been started, and I am alone with the psalmist and his God.

“Preserve me, O God, for in you I take refuge. I say to the Lord, You are my Lord; I have no good apart from you.” Ps. 16:1

The kids are at school. I had to make a second trip to deliver some forgotten homework. A friend who works in the school office said, “You’re a good Dad for bringing that in.”. I wasn’t expecting it, and I didn’t know how to respond. So I mumbled something with “thank you” in it and left. As if love could do anything else but make a second trip.

“The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.” (vs. 6)

I’ve finished my coffee, and my morning prayers. The sun is still shining through the trees. And I’m thankful for this day.

“You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” (vs. 11)

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

